Southern Grit

$29.95
Description

Shop Notes:

This is a fantastic recipe collection for someone who loves traditional southern food, but sometimes prefers fresher and spicier modernized versions of old favorites.  The recipes in Southern Grit would serve cooks well for both weeknight meals and parties.  Ms. Clark just "gets" modern cooking in a busy world with a busy family, where freshness is warranted but fussiness is not.

From the Publisher:

A modern take on Southern cooking with 100+ accessible Southern recipes and hospitality tips, from Kelsey Barnard Clark, 2016 Top Chef winner, and Fan Favorite

From preeminent chef, multitasking mom, proud Southerner, and 2016 Top Chef winner Kelsey Barnard Clark comes this fresh take on Southern cooking and entertaining.

In Southern Grit, Kelsey Barnard Clark presents more than 100 recipes that are made to be shared with family and friends. Indulge your loved ones in delicious modern Southern meals, including Bomb Nachos, Savannah Peach Sangria, Roasted Chicken and Drippin' Veggies, and six variations of Icebox Cookies.

Featuring beautifully styled shots of finished dishes and the Southern home style, as well as Kelsey Barnard Clark's tips for stocking the pantry, entertaining with ease, and keeping your house guest-ready (with or without toddlers).

Readers of Magnolia Table by Joanna Gaines and Whiskey in a Teacup by Reese Witherspoon, fans of Kelsey Barnard Clark and her stint on Top Chef, and any home cooks who love cooking and serving Southern food, have a young family, and like to host guests will appreciate these modern homemaking tips, the approachable instruction, and the contemporary repertoire of recipes that brim with flavors of the Deep South.

Southern food is perennially popular: With 100 simple recipes that cover all occasions, plus entertaining tips throughout the book, Southern Grit has wide-ranging appeal for the broad audience of people who love Southern flavors.

Top Chef winner and fan favorite: Kelsey Barnard Clark is a self-branded "spicy Joanna Gaines." Her personality and talent were showcased on Top Chef, leading her to win the title of Fan Favorite in addition to winning the season overallonly the second time in 16 seasons when that's happened.

Perfect for:

Fans of TOP CHEF and Kelsey Barnard Clark
Southerners and fans of Southern cooking
Home cooks who like to host and entertain
Home cooks with young families

About the Author:

Kelsey Barnard Clark is a born and raised Gulf Southerner from Dothan, Alabama. She has developed an impressionable resume including being the fifth woman and first southerner to win the title of Top Chef. Kelsey was also voted Fan Favorite following her Season 16 win. Kelsey got her start in the food industry in middle school where she worked for a local high-end caterer, and even catered her first solo wedding at the age of 15. After graduating from the Culinary Institute of America, she worked savory and pastry in New York City Michelin-star restaurants, Cafe Boulud under Chef Gavin Kaysen and Dovetail under Chef John Fraser. Her signature Southern-French cuisine is inspired by family recipes and classic French techniques. In 2012 Kelsey moved back home to open her catering company, Kelsey Barnard Catering. Today, she runs her catering company, bakery and restaurant- KBC- in historic downtown Dothan while also taking her chef talents on the road, appearing and cooking at events as often as possible. She has a book coming out this fall- Southern Grit- as well as a new restaurant concept in the works. Kelsey is also an avid gardener and beekeeper with 15 chickens, 3 bunnies, and 2 dogs (currently). She lives in Dothan with her husband, Deavours, and two children- Monroe and Evelyn June.

Release Date:  August 2021

Condition: New